Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind The Scenes At The Museum. Her four bestselling novels featuring former detective Jackson Brodie became the BBC television series Case Histories, starring Jason Isaacs. Her last novel, Life After Life, was the winner of the Costa Novel Award and the South Bank Sky Arts Literature Prize, and was shortlisted for the Women's Prize. It was also voted Book of the Year for the independent booksellers associations on both sides of the Atlantic. Her new novel A God in Ruins is a companion to Life After Life.

She was appointed MBE in the 2011 Queen's Birthday Honours List, and was voted Waterstones UK Author of the Year at the 2013 Specsavers National Book Awards.

News and Blog

Sep 2

What Influences a Crime Writer?

by P.D. Viner on 2 September 2014

After the release of his third book, THE SUMMER OF GHOSTS, P.D. Viner answered our quick Q&A and gave us an insight into how his own experience of loss influenced his writing.

Grab a blanket, pour yourself a hot drink and curl up on a comfy couch . . . here are our top picks of the best books to hibernate with this winter.


Books by Kate Atkinson