Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood is Canada's most eminent novelist, poet and critic. Her books include The Edible Woman, Surfacing, Lady Oracle, Life Before Man, Bodily Harm, The Handmaid's Tale (winner of both the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Science Fiction and the Governor-General's Award, shortlisted for the Booker Prize and made in a major film). Cat's Eye (also shortlisted for the Booker Prize) The Robber Bride and Alias Grace. Finally, The Blind Assassin won the Booker Prize in 2000.

News and Blog

The Hogarth Shakespeare, a major international publishing initiative across the Penguin Random House Group, has commissioned Jo Nesbo – number one bestselling author of the Harry Hole thrillers – to retell MACBETH, one of Shakespeare’s darkest and most powerful tragedies.

Apr 20

Rapunzel Syndromes

by Kate Forsyth on 20 April 2012

One of the best things about being a writer is you get to spend all day discovering fascinating things about the world and call it research. My most recent book is BITTER GREENS, a retelling of the Rapunzel fairy tale interwoven with the dramatic life story of the woman who first wrote the tale, the 17th century French writer Charlotte-Rose de la Force. While researching the motif of hair...

Books by Margaret Atwood