Michael Ondaatje

Michael Ondaatje was born in Sri Lanka in 1943. In the 1950s he moved to England, and went to school in south London. In 1962 he emigrated to Canada, where he has lived ever since.

His books include his memoir, Running in the Family, numerous collections of poetry, and five novels - including The English Patient which won the 1992 Booker Prize. His latest novel is The Cat's Table, which was published by Cape in hardcover in September 2011.

News and Blog

Sep 6

Must-Reads in Your 30s

by Random House Australia on 6 September 2013

Following on from our Must-Reads in Your 20s blog, we asked a few of our resident book experts around the office for recommendations on the essential reads anyone in their thirties will appreciate

Nov 14

2013 IMPAC Award longlist

by Random House Australia on 14 November 2012

Congratulations to Gail Jones (FIVE BELLS), Frank Moorhouse (COLD LIGHT) and Elliot Perlman (THE STREET SWEEPER), all Random House Australia authors who have been nominated for the 2013 IMPAC Award longlist.

Books by Michael Ondaatje