Aug 23 0 comments

2011 Queensland Premier's Literary Awards

by Random House Australia on 23 August 2011

2011 Queensland Premier's Literary Awards
Four Random House authors are included in this year’s award shortlist, including Maggie MacKellar’s WHEN IT RAINS and David Hicks and his memoir, GUANTANAMO: MY JOURNEY, both in the non-fiction category. While Christine Bongers’ HENRY HOEY HOBSON and Mark Svendsen TO DIE FOR are included in the Children's Book - Mary Ryan's Award and Young Adult Book Award respectively.

See the full shortlist

Since its inception in 1999, the Queensland Premier's Literary Awards has aimed to nurture Australia's greatest authors, and support and encourage the development of emerging ones. Previous winners of the prize include J.M. Coetzee for his book SUMMERTIME in 2010 and Richard Flanagan for WANTING in 2009.

The winners of the 2011 awards will be announced on 6 September in the lead-up to the Brisbane Writers Festival.

To comment, please register or sign in