The Forgotten Waltz

0 ratings 0 stars

A powerful, moving book of secrets, longing and loss, from the Man Booker Prize-winning author of The Gathering.

The Forgotten Waltz, Anne Enright

Shortlisted for The Orange Prize for Fiction

If it hadn't been for the child then none of this might have happened.
She saw me kissing her father.
She saw her father kissing me.
The fact that a child got mixed up in it all made us feel that it mattered, that there was no going back.

Available Formats

  • Paperback
    $22.99 RRP
    ISBN: 9780099539780
    Published: 01/05/2012
    Imprint: Vintage
See All Reviews

To review, please register or sign in

"An achingly brilliant piece of writing on passion and delusion. Comparisons to Madame Bovary are not overblown, not because it is a wry, clever, philosophical take on adultery - although it is - but because it makes you re-evaluate everything a novel can be... This book is enough to restore your faith in the power of fiction" - Viv Groskop, Independent

"An important novel... It is a rare thing: the literary page turner... An acutely tender depiction of the complex familial bonds joining us, a delicate portrait of love, loss and hope, from a formidably talented writer" - Claire Kilroy, Financial Times

"A love story for our times... In a single sentence [Enright] conjures up that violent pendulum swing of emotion that can blow whole worlds apart... This is the great pleasure of reading Enright: her sheer virtuoso control of language, those compact sentences, with their occasional flares of lyrical beauty and emotional force" - Irish Times

"A luminous novel... Haunting, dreamy, sexy and with flashes of salty wit this is one of those novels that you are sorry to see end. It is very much an Irish novel and much of its time but the anatomy of desire and passion are timeless" - Jennifer Selway, Daily Express

"The real pleasure of the book is the dancing, delicious prose" - Evening Standard

"Enright holds you in a story-telling spell. Mesmerising" - Red

"Absolute genius" - Linda Grant, BBC Radio 4

"Devastatingly good" - Marie Claire

"A brave and unusual variation on a familiar theme... She modulates so finely between comedy and pathos, between psychology and physicality, that she conveys a sense of the richness of lived experience... Anne Enright has taken a great risk in writing this book, but she has brought it off superbly" - Edmund Gordon, Daily Telegraph

"Devastatingly good" - Marie Claire

Anne Enright

Anne Enright

Anne Enright was born in Dublin, where she now lives and works. She has published two collection of stories, collected as Yesterday's Weather, one book of non-fiction, Making Babies, and five novels, including The Gathering, which was the Irish Novel of the Year, and won the Irish Fiction Award and the 2007 Man Booker Prize, and The Forgotten Waltz, which was awarded the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction. She is the inaugural Laureate for Irish Fiction.