5 ratings 3 stars

'The best thing he has ever written' Observer

Atonement, Ian McEwan

On the hottest day of the summer of 1934, thirteen- year-old Briony Tallis sees her sister Cecilia strip off her clothes and plunge into the fountain in the garden of their country hosue. Watching her is Robbie Turner, her childhood friend who, like Cecilia, has recently come down from Cambridge.By the end of that day, the lives of all three will have been changed for ever. Robbie and Cecilia will have crossed a boundary they had not even imagined at its start, and will have become victims of the younger girl's imagination. Briony will have witnessed mysteries, and committed a crime for which she will spend the rest of her life trying to atone.

Available Formats

  • Paperback
    $19.99 RRP
    ISBN: 9780099429791
    Published: 03/05/2002
    Imprint: Vintage
    Extent: 384 pages
  • eBook
    ISBN: 9781409090021
    Published: 01/07/2010
    Imprint: Vintage Digital
    Extent: 384 pages
See All Reviews

To review, please register or sign in

  1. Avatar

"Atonement is a magnificent novel, shaped and paced with awesome confidence and eloquence" - Independent

"Subtle as well as powerful, adeptly encompassing comedy as well as atrocity, Atonement is a richly intricate book- A superb achievement which combines a magnificent display of the powers of the imagination with a probing exploration of them" - Sunday Times

"He is this country's unrivalled literary giant...a fascinatingly strange, unique and gripping novel" - Independent on Sunday

"Just brilliant, particularly for the clever, poignant final chapter. I loved the shattering, satisfying twist" - Tasmina Perry, Red

"I love being transported to a different era and this masterly novel succeeds at every level." - Stephanie Beacham, Daily Express

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan is a critically acclaimed author of short stories and novels for adults, as well as The Daydreamer, a children's novel illustrated by Anthony Browne. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child In Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award, The Cement Garden, Enduring Love, Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize, Atonement, Saturday, On Chesil Beach, Solar, Sweet Tooth and The Children Act.