Arthur and George

1 ratings 5 stars

Now a major TV series starring Martin Clunes, Arsher Ali and Art Malik

Arthur and George, Julian Barnes

Now a major TV series starring Martin Clunes, Arsher Ali and Art Malik

From the winner of the Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2011, an extraordinary true-life tale about a long-forgotten mystery...

Arthur and George grow up worlds apart in late nineteenth-century Britain: Arthur in shabby-genteel Edinburgh, George in the vicarage of a small Staffordshire village. Arthur is to become one of the most famous men of his age, while George remains in hard-working obscurity. But as the new century begins, they are brought together by a sequence of events that made sensational headlines at the time as The Great Wyrley Outrages.

This is a novel about low crime and high spirituality, guilt and innocence, identity, nationality and race. Most of all it is a profound and moving meditation on the fateful differences between what we believe, what we know and what we can prove.

Available Formats

  • Paperback
    $22.99 RRP
    ISBN: 9780099492733
    Published: 01/03/2006
    Imprint: Vintage
  • eBook
    ISBN: 9781407054292
    Published: 01/07/2010
    Imprint: Vintage Digital
    Extent: 512 pages
See All Reviews

To review, please register or sign in

"A beautiful and engrossing work" - Independent on Sunday

"Richly accomplished... Dazzling" - Sunday Times

"Excellent... Meticulously researched and vividly imagined, both gripping and thoughtful" - Sunday Telegraph

"From the first paragraphs we know ourselves to be in the hands of a major novelist... A compelling narrative, beautifully controlled... This novel is Barnes at his best" - P D James, The Times

"As ever, Barnes serves up a master-class in character observation, lavishing attention on the minutiae of personality, the subtle and conflicting impulses that drive men and women. Barnes seems equipped to write with humour and elegance about anything he turns his attention to" - Financial Times

Julian Barnes

Julian Barnes

Julian Barnes is the author of twelve novels, including The Sense of an Ending, which won the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. He has also written three books of short stories, Cross Channel, The Lemon Table and Pulse; four collections of essays; and two books of non-fiction, Nothing To Be Frightened Of and the Sunday Times Number One bestseller Levels of Life. He lives in London.